Okay, I’ll confess right up front: I can’t remember names. I must have inherited this disability from my mom, who called me by my sister’s name almost as often as she called me by my own. Still does, by the way. (Hi there, Mom! Love Ya!)

My own kids, bless their hearts, had to grow up hearing me run through everyone else in the family’s name before I got to theirs. It was there in my head somewhere, but I just couldn’t pull it out immediately. I’ve even called my husband by my brothers’ names (and vice versa), my daughter by her aunt’s name…well, you get the gist.

When I have to introduce people, even people I know extremely well, my brain freezes. I grin, and say, “Hi, this is__________” (hopefully remembering at least one of the names). Then there is a long awkward pause while I wait for the the other person to step forward and introduce himself to the other person, which after a moment, they usually do.

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one to suffer from this disease. I’d just like to know how other people deal with it!

 

 

 

