IMG_5236I’m lucky to live in a town with lots of entertaining things to do. Recently, my husband and I went to a new venue that recently opened, called Mystique Dining. It is basically a dinner theater with close-up magic, which, if you haven’t seen it before, consists of a magician doing card tricks and other magic, not up on a stage but a few inches from your eyes. No matter how closely you watch, it is impossible to tell how they do it!
At least that was our experience. We were lucky enough to attend the Magic Castle in Los Angeles years ago, and were just as amazed. My husband went home and immediately went online to find out the secrets. I prefer not to know! The food (prime rib) and hilarious patter from the magician were just as good as the magic. It was a splurge, but well worth it. If you’re looking for something different to do, try a fabulous magic show!
I’m currently working on a Young Adult fantasy story about a young man who is learning to be a REAL magician, because, of course, magic is even better when it’s the real thing. Haven’t come out with a title yet, but this book has been in my mind since I was a teenager, long before Harry Potter. A lesson in not procrastinating: from the beginning, my main character’s name has been Torb, but I just learned that there is a videogame that has come out with a character using that name. Grrr!

